The Awards Nomination Process is open for 2022!

Click Here to Nominate

The Annuit Coeptis Award honors three senior professionals at a dinner where there can be wide-ranging discussion and exchange about professional issues. These awards were created by ACPA (College Student Educators International) to celebrate the lives of Philip A. Tripp, Ursula Delworth, and Cynthia Johnson who dearly loved to challenge their contemporary and junior colleagues in a spirit of personal and professional sharing, good humor, and intellectual debate. The Latin phrase annuit coeptis reflects Professor Tripp's optimism for the future by suggesting that “He has smiled upon that which we have begun.” Started in 1979, this annual award honors up to three senior professionals and up to five early career professionals at a dinner where they can engage in lively and thoughtful discussions

Nomination Instructions

To nominate a colleague for the Senior Professional Award, please submit a nominee’s resume and a letter explaining how the person meets the criteria listed below; up to two additional letters of support are encouraged. Nomination materials must be received no later than November 1, 2021. Please note that past recipients of the Emerging Professional Award are eligible for the Senior Award later in their careers.

Award Criteria for Senior Professionals

  1. Evidence of extensive and sustained contributions to the field of student affairs in the areas of (a) administrative service or teaching; (b) research and publication; (c) professional association service; and (d) demonstrated leadership.

  2. Evidence of Phil Tripp’s commitment to mentoring and encouraging early career student affairs professionals.

  3. Recipients must plan to register and attend the 2022 ACPA Annual Convention and be available to share dinner with the other award recipients (traditionally on Tuesday evening of the conference. Anyone who is selected for the award but unable to register for ACPA22 and participate in time together may be considered for nomination in 2023.

If you have any questions, please contact Tony Cawthon at

2021 Recipients

Due to COVID and the remote convention, there were no Annuit Coeptis awards in 2021. 

2020 Recipients

Daniel W. Calhoun
Georgia Southern University

Jo Campbell
Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo

Jamie Washington
Washington Consulting Group