ACPA Awards Nominations are Open!
Deadline 1 November 2021
Nominate today!

The ACPA Innovative Practice Award (formerly Excellence in Practice Award) recognizes the outstanding work of a campus practitioner who is innovative in their approach, and who has made a significant impact on student communities on their campus. The association intends to honor practitioners who are making a difference at the local level and are successfully trying and assessing new and creative approaches to our work.

Award Criteria:

  • Minimum of 8 years as a practitioner in student affairs
  • Evidence of making a significant contribution(s) to the co-curricular student experience, their campus
  • Evidence of implementing innovative practices
  • Demonstrated connection or commitment to ACPA

Required Documentation:

  • Letter of nomination that articulates how the individual meets the criteria for the award and includes the nominee's name, email address, and telephone number
  • The nominee’s resume
  • Two supporting letters from department and campus leadership

2021 Recipient

Christopher Johnson
California State University, Los Angeles