ACPA Awards Nominations are Open!
Deadline 1 November 2021
Nominate today!

ACPA’s Equity and Inclusion Statement provides a reaffirmation of the Association’s commitment to equity and inclusion of the multiple identities and experiences of its members. It acknowledges the importance of these ideas in the success of the Association and of professionals in our fields to create a strong culture where we can all learn, grow, and be successful.

The Voices of Inclusion award was established in 2002 by then-ACPA President Nancy Evans. It was first awarded at the 2002 Convention in Long Beach, California, which had a theme of “Voices of Wisdom: Stories of Inclusion, Practice, and Scholarship”. Merriam-Webster defines “voice” as a “wish, choice, or opinion openly or formally expressed” or a “right of expression; also: influential power”. In many of our cultures, one’s “voice” is where people find their strength, their truth, and their connection to others. Our voices are the ways we share, express, and advocate.

The Voices of Inclusion Award recognizes members who use their voice to make their campuses, our Association, and the field a more equitable, inclusive, and just place. Since we acknowledge that all forms of oppression are linked, it is important in discussing the Voices of Inclusion the ways that we are empowering, engaging, and advocating for people from multiple marginalized populations. We understand that these efforts come in many forms: individuals, groups and communities, and activities. This award seeks to recognize voices of inclusion no matter the form.

This award is presented annually at the ACPA Annual Convention. Two recipients are given this award each year.

Nomination Instructions 

Each nomination should include:

  •  An essay (minimum of 1200 words) that explains how the nominee exemplifies the purpose of the Voices of Inclusion Award and addresses the ways that the sustained impact of that work has been felt by others. This essay should provide specific examples so that it is clear to the selection committee how the nominee was effective in supporting multiple marginalized populations. The author of the essay will serve as the primary nominator for this award.
  • A statement of the history of the nominee. For individuals, this might be a resume or CV. For groups, communities, and events this might be a document explaining the purpose and history of this group that includes its founding, current status, and dates in between.
  • A letter of support from a source separate from the primary author of the essay.
  • While not required, nominators can choose to submit additional documentation. This might include statements of support from students or other community members, artifacts that demonstrate work or impact, metrics and assessments, event programs or agendas, or other relevant documents at the discretion of the nominator.

2021 Recipients

Sara C. Furr
The University of Chicago

Yolanda Cataño
Imperial Valley College